The 7 Ingredients Mediterranean Tart

First of all, did you know my first cookbook got published? It’s called Cookbook #1: A French Girl’s Cooking Adventures in Her Kitchen, and it’s available online, you’re just a click away, RIGHT HERE!

A lot of people around the world wish more than anything else to travel to our beautiful Mediterranean region of Provence Côte d’Azur, also known as the French Riviera, at the border with Italy. Yet, it can be costly to come over here, so I offer you, nice travelers, a pre-taste of the Mediterranean Land, right on your plate, so that with just a few bites you could feel Southern France and the Northern coast of Italy melting in your mouth, before you can make the actual trip. If you come by, don’t forget to let me know !

Besides, take notes that my 7 Ingredients Mediterranean Tart is the easiest tart you could imagine making by yourself someday, plus it’s vegan and it’s tasty, and of course it is healthy !

My mom would say it’d be healthier if I’d made my own tart dough and avoided to buy one that came from the industry, because at least I could control the amount of butter (meaning = fat) in the dough, but honestly, even though she also says a homemade tart dough is quick and easy to make, I disagree. Tell me “pizza dough”, I say Okay, quick and easy. But “tart dough”, easy but not too quick, and on week nights I don’t want my dinner preparation to be too much of a hassle. So I buy my dough from the store and I am not ashamed of it. For the rest, it’s only about slicing vegetables and spreading mustard on the dough, so we’ve got our quick and easy 7 Ingredients Mediterranean Tart just a knife away !

Mediterranean Tart

Ingredients

  • a tart dough bought at the store !
  • 1 eggplant
  • 1 zucchini
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 4 to 5 white mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp of mustard
  • 200g of goat cheese
  • salt, pepper, oregano, olive oil and and cup of white wine (for the cooking, not the drinking !)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius
  2. Slice the 4 vegetables
  3. In a non-sticky pan, start cooking the eggplant and zucchini with olive oil, oregano and white wine. Finish with the tomatoes and mushrooms.
  4. Unroll the dough in a round shape oven-baking dish, and pierce it roughly with a fork.
  5. Spread mustard all over and sprinkle pieces of goat cheese.
  6. Pour all the vegetables on the tart, then the leftovers of cheese, and sprinkle of more oregano.
  7. Bake 10 to 15 minutes in the oven or until the dough is golden.
  8. Serve with fresh arugula on top.

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2015 All Rights Reserved.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

