Garlic and Ginger Roasted Chicken and Veggies

First of all, did you know my first cookbook got published? It’s called Cookbook #1: A French Girl’s Cooking Adventures in Her Kitchen, and it’s available online, you’re just a click away, RIGHT HERE!

A single plate full of proteins, vitamins and nutrients for less than 1.50 euro including the meat ?! Please make it two ! For less than 3 euros you can feed a couple and keep a healthy diet tonight. 

When I went to the market this morning, I was in the mood for fresh garlic and fresh parsley, but I also wanted to find something to buy that I had never bought before. After a quick look around, I stopped in front of a stack of sweet potatoes. The label was saying “from the United States”, so I couldn’t resist and I just immediately, instinctively, took one in my hand, trying to “feel” my new and sudden interest for this starch that I read about on all blogs written from America.

I have eaten sweet potato before, not too often though and without really knowing whether I was fond of it or not. But I have never cooked it, ever. So I have to admit that I felt more tempted by the cooking experience than by the potential flavor that I was planning to find out about again. However, in the end, I’ve been surprisingly delighted by both the (so easy and lazy !!!) cooking session (just do nothing after the basic chicken marinade and veggies preparation, and wait while it roasts…) and the delicious sweet taste of the potato melting in my mouth as soon as dinner was ready. Who am I teaching anything here ? Probably nobody, but my discovery was so enchanting that it is worth telling.

Garlic and Ginger Chicken and Veggies - 3  Garlic and Ginger Chicken and Veggies - 4

To prepare the marinade, It’s important to crush the garlic at best before adding the other marinade ingredients such as ginger powder, mustard, a pinch of black pepper and a little bit of lemon juice (half a big lemon would do just right). These pictures above show the dish with raw marinade on the left, and when it is almost cooked through on the right. The end result on the plate is the nicest of all, I just love the harmony of the colors and now that I have eaten the dish, I love it even more. So here we have chicken drumsticks, carrots (halved length-ways), garlic cloves, a sweet potato slice, an eggplant slice and a zucchini wedge. Covered with fresh minced parsley all over. No oil at all. The fat only comes from the chicken skin.

Garlic and Ginger Chicken and Veggies

Ingredients (for 2 servings) :

  • 4 small chicken drumsticks
  • 4 to 5 carrots, skin grated and halved length-ways
  • 2 slices of sweet potato
  • 2 slices of eggplant
  • 2 large quarters of zucchini
  • A dozen cloves of garlic (half a dozen mashed for the marinade, the other half halved – and germ removed – for roasting)
  • A handful of fresh minced parsley
  • Mustard (Dijon)
  • 2 tsp of ginger powder
  • The juice of half of a big lemon
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions : 

  1. Garlic and Ginger Chicken and Veggies - columnPreheat the oven at 160 degrees Celsius on the regular baking position.
  2. Peel the garlic cloves and remove all germs. Set 6 cloves aside, and crush the 6 other cloves then combine with ginger, mustard and lemon juice.
  3. Slice the vegetables, peel off the carrots and cut them length-ways.
  4. With bare hands, thoroughly coat the chicken and veggies with the marinade.
  5. Put the chicken drumsticks bone-in skin-on in an oven baking dish, skin face down. Put the veggies around and add the garlic cloves too.
  6. Cover with aluminium foil and bake for about 50 minutes.
  7. Spin the chicken to skin face up, move around the veggies so that some liquid can come about, and take out the aluminium foil.
  8. Change the oven position to Roast, and cook for another 40 minutes.
  9. Serve in individual plates, pour the cooking juices, and generously sprinkle with minced parsley.

For more insight on health and diet matters, READ MORE HERE.

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2015, All Rights Reserved. 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

