Zucchini and Chocolate Chips Quickbread

Tonight, I have baked a quickbread which recipe I thought at first was a joke. When you read zucchini and then chocolate, ummm how to put this… It doesn’t sound like the usual yummy quickbread you’re expecting when you’re thinking “let’s make something sweet for tomorrow’s breakfast or this weekend’s afternoon snack”. But, it comes from the famous blog “Levanacooks”, and Levana is never joking when it comes to her recipes. And as surprising as it is, this recipe finally works out quite nice !

Before you get started, did you know my first cookbook got published? It’s called Cookbook #1: A French Girl’s Cooking Adventures in Her Kitchen, and it’s available online, you’re just a click away, RIGHT HERE!

Zucchini and Chocolate Chips Quickbread 3I must say I’ve made quite a few changes from the original recipe, because I can’t suffer too much sugar or too much fat. As it turns out, Levana always tries to make nice dishes and to think through the type of ingredients she uses when creating fancy and healthy foods. Although she tries her best, fat and sugar levels are too high for me, and I think I adapted rather well, because the flavors are bursting and the bread is pretty moist too, which are two good signs of a success. Last but not least, Levana suggests to add walnuts or pecans. I didn’t have those on hands, but I had pine nuts and sunflower seeds, and it comes out pretty nice and a soft crunch.

Zucchini and Chocolate Chips Quickbread 2I have no problem with eating vegetables, but a lot of people do. Some are just terrified by the idea of eating green color foods. Levana guarantees that even the kids will love this quickbread and “will eat those vegetables!”. I must admit that I still have my doubts about kids being fond of this quickbread, because even though I love the taste (and so does my hubby, which I’m very surprised about), one must acknowledge it is a very peculiar flavor that comes out of the mix of zucchini with chocolate chips ! It’s both sweet and savory at the same time, although I’m not sure that that has to do with the mix of ingredients itself or with my habit of cutting down on sugar quantities.

Anyways, I think it’s a great snack option (and I’ll try this for breakfast too tomorrow morning to get full energy for the last working day of the week). 

Zucchini and Chocolate Chips Quickbread

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 medium size zucchinis, grated
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tbsp of orange zest
  • 2 tbsp of sunflower oil
  • 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 80 g of refined sugar
  • 1 handful of nuts or seeds
  • 1 big handful of chocolate chips

Directions :

  1. Preheat the oven at 170 degrees Celsius.
  2. Combine the zucchinis, the beaten eggs, the orange zest and the oil in a bowl.
  3. Combine all the other ingredients in another bowl and mix thoroughly.
  4. Pour the zucchini mix over the flour mix, and combine it all.
  5. Pour the batter in a large greased loaf pan or 2 smaller.
  6. Bake for about an hour, or till a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.
  7. Un-mold when cooled down a bit, and cut only when cooled totally.
  8. Eat and enjoy !

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2015, All Rights Reserved. 

7 comments

Leave a Reply

