Jiao Zi, Vegetarian Raviolis, China.

This recipe of Chinese Ravioli is included in my book, but a little freebie is nice to give away from time to time, isn’t it?! Besides, it has been so far one of my hardest World Food Challenge, so I’m glad I can talk about it here! What’s not included in my book though, and that I’m pleased to offer you now, is the how-to for making the wonton dough by yourself. Tell me what you think, but personnally I find it essential to master the art of homemade-wonton-making, because it’s always late at night or on a rainy afternoon that I suddenly feel the urge of making Chinese Raviolis, and of course I don’t stock up wonton dough in my pantry…

Usually I combine vegetables and veal for the stuffing, but more and more readers are vegetarian nowadays, so I thought it would be nice to present here a vegetarian version of this popular dumpling from China for a change.

Before we get started, please feel free to check out about my book here. It’s called Cookbook #1: A French Girl’s Cooking Adventures in Her Kitchen and it’s available worldwide. I would be soooooo honored that some more of my fellow readers purchase it :)

Here was my very first successful Jiaozi (Chinese ravioli). Isn’t it beautiful?! I felt so proud!

CNY 5

Now about the dough… For about 60 to 65 raviolis, you will need 400 grams of all purpose flour, 16 cl of water, 1 tsp of salt, and 2 eggs. All ingredients must be thoroughly combined and mixed during 10 minutes. Divide the dough in 4 balls, and while you deal with one after another, leave the other ones at rest under a humid towel. Flour your table, and start spreading a ball over, keeping a thickness of less than 1 mm if you can. Cut squares (or disks) the size you need for a regular Jiaozi, which is about 7 to 8 cm. Repeat the same with the other 3 balls of dough.

CNY 1  CNY 6

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 very large scallion (or 2 small), minced, white part and green leaves included
  • white cabbage
  • a handful of fresh parsley and chives
  • 1 raw egg to bind the stuffing
  • salt and pepper
  • Reminder for the wonton dough: 400 grams of all purpose flour, 16 cl of water, 1 tsp of salt, and 2 eggs (recipe: see above).

DIRECTIONS

  1. For the stuffing, slice a carrot, mince scallions (white and green parts) and roughly chop white cabbage. Thinly mix everything in an electrical mixer. For more protein, add a bit of cooked lentils.
  2. Pour everything in a big salad bowl, season with salt and pepper, and add a handful of parsley and chives.
  3. Bind it all with a raw egg.
  4. Take a square or round ravioli crepe (wonton) in the palm of your hand, and place a nice teaspoon of stuffing in the center.
  5. Fold the wonton in two, and stick it edge to edge by pressing firmly with wet fingertips or by brushing with eggwash before pressing up.
  6. Put pleats on the wonton around the stuffing to maintain a solid shape of the Jiaozi.
  7. Bring water to a boil in a large saucepan, and cook the raviolis about 5 minutes. Drain the water, and your Jiaozi are ready! Don’t be silly, eat with chopsticks (it’s so much better in taste!) and dip your Jiaozi in clear soya sauce (I like it with a little bit of hot spices).

TIPS

Jiaozi can be frozen, raw, immediately after closing them up. To cook them, bring water to a boil, directly take the Jiaozi out from the freezer and put them in the saucepan. You’ll know when they are cooked through the moment they come back up to the surface of the boiling water.

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2015 All Rights Reserved.

8 comments

  1. Wow, you make jiaozi? Haha, I love them! My dad usually makes them for the restaurant (did I tell you my parents own a Chinese restaurant? :p) and now when he comes to visit me in Korea, I always ask him to fill my freezer with jiaozi xD I like them boiled the most, since it’s healthier than the fried ones~ and I like them with zucchini inside. The simpler the better to me ^^ I still don’t know how to make jiaozi, never really thought of making them myself because when I see my dad preparing it, it looks so complicated, haha.

    Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mimi! Yes, I’ve learnt to make Jiaozi when I got back from my expat life in China because I was missing it too much! I like both boiled and fried jiaozi, it’s a very different taste and texture but both are yummy! Though, I never had jiaozi stuffed with zucchini before. Yes, you told me about your parents’ Chinese restaurant when I made your tortilla de patatas which recipe was inspired by your dad’s. I can only encourage you to try making Jiaozi (even though I can totally understand it’s surely very nice to eat the ones your dad puts in your freezer when he visits!). If you try my recipe, I’d be eager to know whether they taste like they should, and maybe you would like to help me improve it, haha! Anyway, thanks for the compliments :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

