Yogurt and Oven-Baked Apples with Cinnamon and Walnuts

Since I’ve lived in China for many years, eating dessert has become the opposite of mandatory for me at the end of a meal. I even ended up not enjoying so much anymore the taste of sweet foods, and developed a larger interest for savory dishes. But my husband hasn’t lived in Asia, and he has been raised in a family that could not imagine finishing a meal without a fruit (okay, that one is healthy), a cake or a candy (oh dear!).

When we met, I immediately got myself the role of meals organizer, de facto. I don’t remember how long it took me to absorb the idea that my hubby needed to finish the meal with some sweet, but even today sometimes I still forget to shop for desserts.

I hardly accept the idea that a handful of candies can be seen as a replacement for any healthy dessert though, so I got my husband (and myself) used to eating either a fruit or a yogurt. Occasionally, we would treat ourselves with both and try to avoid refined sugar. That’s how I came up with this very easy to make recipe of Yogurt and Oven-Baked Apples with Cinnamon and Walnuts. It is fresh and healthy, hearty and wholesome.

Yogurt Apple Cinnamon WalnutsPeel and cut an apple into pieces. Put them in a bowl, drizzle with lemon juice, and sprinkle cinnamon. Cook 1 minute in the micro-wave oven. In a glass cup, serve Greek yogurt, and top it off with cinnamon apples and a few chopped walnuts. No need to add refined sugar, in my opinion the fructose of the apples gives enough of the required sweet taste that a dessert lover is entitled to.

This is the fast way. For a more traditional technique, and for a possible sweeter taste, bake the apples in the oven. By being heated longer, the natural sugar of the fruits will slowly caramelize and emphasize the sweetness by itself.

Before you leave, don’t forget to click here to have a look at my cookbook available online with a preview, and with possible delivery worldwide. It’s called COOKBOOK #1: A French Girl’s Cooking Adventures in Her Kitchen.

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2015 All Rights Reserved.

One comment

Leave a Reply

