Salmon Cheesecake

I hate wasting food. We live the modern life, wrongly thinking that (in general) the more we consume the happier we are, or likewise (in particular) the more food we can buy the healthier we seem to live. Both of these statements are very wrong. 

When I shop for my groceries, I often try not to over-buy fresh produces that I might not have time to consume before they rotten. I never put to the trashcan something I bought, just because I don’t feel like eating it anymore. Indeed I must find a way to cook it so that I feel again it’s going to be yummy or healthy or simply edible, because I will always refuse to waste the food on my table. I will not throw away the extra food from a meal either, that’s what the word “leftovers” is for, right?!

Last week, I had my monthly grocery delivery received at home. I usually have the heavy stuffs (bottles, cans, milk bricks) and packaged goods (bread slices, flour, sugar, butter, chicken breasts slices, sausages, eggs, etc.) delivered once a month. For the fresh produces, I go to the supermarket or farmers market several times a week, so I can choose by myself the quality of the produces I want to cook once I get back at home. Last week’s delivery was a disaster. Numbers of goods’ packages were damaged, but the food left inside was still proper for consumption. That got me totally crazy, because although I knew the supermarket will refund me for the damaged goods, there was no way I would throw away what was still edible. Damn, some people still die of hunger in other parts of the world! So I took out from my kitchen cabinet a large number of mason jars and plastic boxes so I could store the food that could be saved. One food among others was a package of Nacho chips. I was looking forward to making a delicious guacamole and dip my spicy nachos in, but that will not happen so soon. The nachos package has been crushed under 6 liters of milk, and I now have a full box of nacho crumbs.

 

So I searched my brain and found the perfect idea to use those nacho chips. They came in totally crushed, remember? Well, I am a pharmacist’s wife, and at home we’ve got on hand one of the pharmacist’s most symbolic working material: a mortar and a pestle! So I used them to crush even harder my spicy nachos, mix the crumbs with some butter, and make with this mixture a spicy base for a savory cheesecake!

As I was craving for salmon tonight, I’ve decided to make a Salmon Cheesecake, with nachos, smoked salmon, cream cheese and dill. Here it is! It’s fresh, it’s yummy, it’s small, and therefore it is rich yet healthy thanks to its reasonable size. I hope you’ll enjoy my recipe!

 

INGREDIENTS 

  • About 200g of crushed hot spicy nacho chips
  • 60g of butter
  • 200g of cream cheese
  • 150g of smoked salmon
  • a dash of lemon juice
  • 1 tsp of olive oil
  • 2 tsp of dill
  • salt and pepper

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Smash the nacho chips with a mortar and a pestle if you have those at home, otherwise use any utensil to crush nachos into crumbs.
  3. Melt the butter and combine it very thoroughly with the nachos.
  4. Use cookie cutters or baking circles, and prepare your individual cheesecakes base. Compress well with a spoon.
  5. Cook in the oven for 15 minutes with the circles still around the cakes.
  6. In a bowl, combine the cream cheese with tiny pieces of minced smoked salmon, dill, salt and pepper, olive oil and a dash of lemon juice.
  7. Wait a few minutes for the circles to cool down a bit after taking the baking tray out of the oven, transfer them onto plates, and stuff them with the cream cheese and salmon mixture.
  8. Leave at rest in the fridge for at least an hour.
  9. Take the circles away, and eat this savory cheesecake with some fresh green leaves topped with a short drizzle of olive oil.

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2015 All Rights Reserved.

4 comments

  1. You are very inventive. What a great idea to smash up the broken chips. And it’s wonderful you don’t throw anything out Sophie. I used to have a worm farm and put all my food (vegetables/egg shells etc) in the worm farm but gave it away when I went to China and haven’t bought another one yet but your post had made me realise I need to get one. Thanks Sophie. Regards Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Sue! My mom also has a worm farm and she’s pushing me to get one as well but I’m not sure about being that type of no-waste person yet! Anyway, I still find the concept interesting, and I’m glad I’ve made you think about getting back to your old good habits!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

