Curry Leek Mushroom and Emmenthal Quiche

 

I came home last night with no envy at all to cook food of any kind, but at some point I still had to get to it as 90 minutes later, a man – my man – would come home and ask what we’d eat for dinner. Every good wife knows that this type of question must not stay unanswered for more than just a few seconds, else the inquisitive eyes of her husband will start to shine, light up with rage and eventually burn a thing or two in the house (OMG). I had to come up with a quick idea and an easy-to-fix dinner, so I went for a pantry round-up and immediately made a call on a vegetarian Quiche.

Curry Leek Mushroom and Emmental Quiche - Sophie Rebibo Halimi

A quiche is comforting, easy to assemble, and just needs to be popped in the oven for a given time while you can rest on the couch with a glass of wine in hand, if – you know – you had that kind of day. Any other day, I would consider making my own quiche crust, but there I went for the store-bought rolled crust (man, so easy!). I usually make a simple leek and Emmenthal cheese quiche, but I found out as a  last minute bad surprise that I’d be too short on leek, therefore I had to quickly come up with an alternative to fill up my quiche, and I ran across a stack of mushroom that were screaming my name from the fridge. Bingo! And while I was at it, I thought about all those blog posts I’d read a while back mentioning how leek and curry were a nice match, and I thought why not trying  myself too? It was so good that I will never (ever) make again a simple leek quiche without the mushrooms and a small dash of curry. Ever. Now let’s get to my recipe for this vegetarian Curry Leek Mushroom and Emmenthal Quiche.

Curry Leek Mushroom and Emmental Quiche by Cookingtrips

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pie crust
  • 4 eggs
  • 10 cl of light cream
  • 20 cl of milk
  • 200 g of frozen leek (chopped) or 1/2 fresh leek
  • 2 handfuls of chopped mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp of curry powder
  • salt
  • 100 grams of Emmenthal cheese

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Take the pie crust out of the fridge (I used a fresh crust, not frozen). Do not unroll it immediately.
  2. Bring water to a boil and cook the leek and mushroom with sea salt.
  3. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius.
  4. In a small bowl, beat the eggs with salt, curry powder, light cream and milk.
  5. Unroll the pie crust in an oven baking tart quiche/pie mold. Make holes with a fork.
  6. Drain the leek and mushrooms and spread evenly over the pie crust.
  7. Pour the egg mixture over.
  8. Spread the Emmenthal cheese on top.
  9. Bake in the oven for about 30 to 40 minutes (it depends on the power of your oven) until it looks golden all over the top of the quiche, not only on the crust.
  10. Let it cool down a bit (about 10 minutes) before cutting portions for serving.

Before you leave this page, I’d be very pleased and honored that you check out the page dedicated to my Cookbook.

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2016 All Rights Reserved. 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

