Granola, Healthy Booster Breakfast

I’ve been seeing these Granola mixes made by other bloggers for ages, yet I haven’t gone through with making one of my own, until today, hooray!!! Recently watching one more of those Gordon Ramsay’s home cooking videos may have been the trigger (I think I can call myself a fan by now). I’ve seen him do and it looked so simple and easy, that I thought “hey, I could manage to do that too, couldn’t I?!”.

Granola Homemade by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

So today after work I had this wonderful idea to go and buy some ingredients for the first time in a store specialized in organic products. I am not at all an “all organic” type of person, but I always try to keep my mind opened to different ways of thinking (and doing). What I actually did like in this store is the style of offerings for cereals, grains, seeds and dried fruits. It’s a self-service, and you’re supposed to only purchase what you plan to actually eat, as this kind of store emphasizes on a no-waste policy. So when you want to make your own Granola, this is just perfect, as you can choose everything by yourself, cereals and seeds type and quantity. Here is my very own recipe for a delicious and healthy Breakfast Booster Healthy Granola Mix. 

Granola DIY by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 400 grams of large oats
  • About a handful of each of the followings: cashew nuts, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, chestnuts and almonds
  • Raisins (or cranberries if you prefer)
  • Goji berries
  • About 150 to 200 ml of honey
  • The seeds of a vanilla bean
  • Salt

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven at 200 degrees Celsius.
  2. In a small saucepan, heat honey and vanilla seeds together.
  3. In the meantime, combine all the cereals and seeds together in a large salad bowl. Keep the raisins and Goji berries for the end.
  4. Pour the honey over the cereals while it’s still very hot.
  5. With a wooden spatula, slowly combine the cereals to the honey, taking the cereals from the sides down to the center of the bowl. The honey mixture must cover every seed.
  6. Spread the cereals mix evenly over a baking sheet on the oven baking tray.
  7. Salt the cereals mix so that it dehydrates under heat.
  8. Roast for 25 to 30 minutes.
  9. Stir with the spatula about 10 minutes before the end and spread back over the tray.
  10. Take out of the oven, combine raisins and Goji berries, and let it cool off a few minutes.
  11. Transfer your booster Granola mix into large glass jars to store. Enjoy!!

And before you leave this page, don’t forget to check out the page dedicated to the sale of my Cookbook :)

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2016 All Rights Reserved.

2 comments

  1. Isn’t it amazing that after a hard day’s work you come home and make this lovely breakfast cereal Sophie. My good friends here in Canberra make a granola for their breakfast but I think yours looks and sounds better with the vanilla bean and the honey. Hope you and your husband have enjoyed this over the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh you’re being too kind, Sue!! But thank you, I take the compliment ;) Not only we enjoyed it over the weekend, but as well over the whole following week, as I had made a lot of if, hahaha! I thought it would taste great with Greek yogurt, but fyi it tastes much better with milk.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

