Connecticut Lobster Roll. USA

Lobster Roll really is one of the top food trends of this Summer. It’s all over the Internet on US pages, and blog posts are fighting hard over the fancy dish, as there’s a clear and open war amongst American foodies so to determine whether the best lobster rolls are from Maine or Connecticut. For my World Food Challenge, I’m going for the Connecticut-style Lobster Roll, inspired from the wonderful experience I had with it when I last visited the US, actually in NYC at Cull and Pistol restaurant in the Chelsea Market, upon the recommendation of Ziggy. Finding lobster in Nice, France, is not an easy task, therefore the Lobster Roll is not a dish that we will likely be making every other week at my house! So let’s enjoy it today!

Connecticut Lobster Roll - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

My husband Jerome wasn’t part of my solo trip to NYC this year. Up to today, as he could only hear me talk about the Lobster Roll that I ate but himself had no idea of what the sandwich could taste like, he could not imagine that several lobster chunks in a piece of bread would make such a great deal of a dish. Also, it was difficult for him (as for me at first) to acknowledge that lobster could almost be an everyday dish in some cities in America, and therefore be treated as lightly as in “eat it in a sandwich”. You’ve got to understand that in our part of the world, lobster CANNOT be consumed as a sandwich. It is a luxury ingredient, and unlike in the US and Canada where there is no such thing as lobster shortage right now, in France it is not something we come across so easily at a fair price, and a sandwich might sound like the worst way to eat some lobster around here.

 

 

Today, in our house, for Jerome and I, things totally changed, we decided to forget we were French for an hour or so (hahaha!). I went and purchased one single lobster and cooked for us both a fabulous Lobster Roll, Connecticut style. Going from doubts to a wonderful surprise, Jerome asked for more in the end! Which we had not, obviously! But we’ll definitely repeat the experience, because from what I’ve eaten today, I can say that I was totally able to reproduce the marvelous taste of the Lobster Roll I had a few months ago at the Cull & Pistol. My recipe obviously was not a “copy and paste” of the original version, but I’ve made my very own mayonnaise at home (fresh from this morning), used local green leaves from my region, and chose a cereal bread roll instead of a plain roll. I would love to stay modest right now, but I can’t, the result was outstanding and I feel proud about it, especially because I was able to reproduce something delicious AND it made my husband surprised and happy at the same time, which is the best I could expect from experimenting unusual cuisines. Now I leave you to the recipe!

 

Lobster Roll Connecticut Style - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 soft rolls (or 2 very thick but soft cereals bread toasts)
  • 300 grams of lobster (at least)
  • green leaves
  • scallions (only the green parts)
  • mayonnaise
  • 3 small cloves of garlic, very thinly minced
  • 3 tbsp of butter
  • salt and pepper
  • side of French fries, seasoned with salt, pepper, cumin, and chili powder

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cook the lobster according to how you get it in the first place (boiling time and method might be different if your lobster is fresh or frozen).
  2. Prepare all the ingredients in advance so they are all ready to be used for your recipe immediately when you need them (especially garlic, bread, mayo).
  3. Set the timing right so that your French fries are ready when your Lobster Roll is.
  4. About the lobster now… Break the shell and thoroughly get all possible flesh out of the body, tail and claws. Combine the lobster crumbs with bigger pieces after you cut them to bite size. Set aside.
  5. Heat a non-sticky cast-iron pan if you have one. Melt one tbsp of butter, and immediately toast the 2 rolls or cereal bread slices on one side. Set aside when golden brown.
  6. Melt the second tbsp of butter and lightly brown the minced garlic. As soon as the garlic starts to turn golden, put back the rolls on the other face, over the garlic pieces so that they cook together and attach to each other. Set aside when ready, and let them cool on the service plates so that they can dry out a tiny bit and get a little crisp while keeping soft.
  7. Melt the third and last tbsp of butter in the same pan, and briefly cook the lobster into the warm butter on medium-low heat (no more than 2 minutes). Salt and pepper, chop the scallions, combine and immediately stop the heat.
  8. Spread mayo over the bread rolls, add a few green leaves, and finish off by displaying the lobster equally along the rolls.
  9. Serve warm, Connecticut-style, with a side of Ketchup, Mayo and your nice and peppery French fries.

 

our-growing-edge-badgeThis recipe is part of the Event that I am hosting this month, and that is organized by Our Growing Edge to promote new experiences in our kitchens. The event can be found here through this link. If you wish to participate, please go and visit, it’s open to all.
Our Growing Edge – July 2016 Intro

 

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2016 All Rights Reserved. 

 

 

7 comments

  1. Wow. This looks great Sophie. I’m flying over… (still cheaper than a lobster roll here)

    And hope everything is ok at home. I was in Palermo at the same time, during the feast of Santa Rosalia which happened a day earlier. Thoughts and prayers…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Ziggy, nice to hear from you. Thanks for the message, the thoughts and prayers. We’re living tough times, and it’s especially hard when things happen in your hometown, but fortunately, even if food is not the answer to everything, it has the privilege to comfort at some point. The looks of this lobster roll of mine don’t come close to the one we had in NYC last March, but I gotta say the taste was a win. So… you’re very welcome to fly over, even with your whole family! And by the time you can pay for everybody’s ticket, I’ll have improved a lot my Lobster Roll design and plating! Hope your vacation went well in Palermo (I’m sure I’ll read all about it soon enough).

      Like

  2. Hi Sophie, I don’t know how to contact you apart from this medium…I am praying that you and your husband are ok and also your friends and family. My heart goes out to the people of Nice following that dreadful mass murder of so many innocent people. Please let me know when you can that you are ok. With love and heartfelt condolences to Nice. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

