Poke Bowl, Hawaii, USA

I am that kind of girl. Eating everything and anything from a bowl sounds very much like me. I could add “lately”, but this habit is nothing new to me, since my adult life as professional eater (lol) started when I was living in China about a decade ago. And in China, everything served on a plate ends up in an individual bowl. Now, what’s new to me here would be that I, for once in my life, enjoy doing something at the exact same time that it’s actually a trend everywhere in the world. Usually, I am a bit off beat, I must say (but I don’t care at all). The Poke Bowl from Hawaii is one of the fastest-growing food trends at the moment. It’s healthy, it’s great-looking, it can be prepared in no time, and it’s a complete meal held in a single bowl. So convenient! AND you can hold your bowl and eat while you lazily lay on your sofa after a hectic day at work! Isn’t that good reason enough to fall for it?!

The three basic ingredients are marinated fish and avocado displayed over white rice. Traditionally speaking, you’re not supposed to add more food in it. However, for aesthetic reasons as well as for variety matters, the modern Poke Bowls allow to integrate more veggies, as long as everything remains fresh, cold and raw (otherwise it becomes a Buddha bowl). I have never been to Hawaii, but that’s an archipelago I’d like to visit someday. I have lived in French Polynesia for almost a year and I’m curious about the resemblances and differences between them, as they both have similar mixed origins. It does seem that the food  has that in common though that it is always fresh and simple, yet very tasty, and anyhow it is how I always have imagined Hawaiian food to be like. Also, you must know that it has a strong Asian influence. Something tells me I’m not going to be disappointed with this Poke Bowl! I’ve made the decision here to improve the traditional version with more ingredients of my choice. Aloha!

poke-bowl-from-hawaii

INGREDIENTS (serves 2)

  • 300 grams of fresh Salmon
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • some slices of cucumber
  • carrot and cabbage slaw with its sauce
  • for the marinade: 2 tbsp of soya sauce, 1 tsp of rice wine, 1 tsp of grilled sesame oil, 1/2 tsp of Cayenne pepper, 2 tbsp of  chopped scallion greens, 1 tbsp of sesame seeds.
  • white rice (room temperature to warm)
  • Chopped green scallions for the final touch

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cook the rice and let it sit. When you’re ready to go for the rest of the recipe, start with serving the rice into individual bowls.
  2. Prepare the small coleslaw as per your usual.
  3. Prepare the marinade for the fish.
  4. Dice the salmon and incorporate to the marinade. Combine well, and let it sit for about 5 minutes.
  5. Dice the avocado, season the coleslaw if not done just before, slice the cucumber, and display all veggies over the white rice.
  6. Put the salmon side by side with veggies over the rice.
  7. Chop some more scallions to decorate and give the final tasty touch.

 

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2016 All Rights Reserved.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

