Kentucky Fried Chicken. USA

Don’t Freak Out! Yes, tomorrow is Thanksgiving day, and yes I’ll be cooking a nice stuffed turkey and all the nice veggies that go along with it. But I thought that, just for once, and just for fun, on the eve of the Day, I’d write a post about something completely opposite to what everyone is going to post about within the next hours. So, no healthy turkey feast recipe for me today, but instead a new entry to my world food challenge with this homemade unhealthy like hell Kentucky Fried Chicken. Well, it’s still a bird, isn’t it?! Mmmmm junk food, I loooooove you sometimes!

homemade-kentucky-fried-chicken-cookingtrips-wordpress-com

I often wondered how the crunchy coating of the chicken pieces from KFC was achieved. I could see it was not our regular French breadcrumbs coating, the one we use for schnitzel and escalope milanaise. When later on I learnt what was Panko breadcrumbs (the Japanese breadcrumbs), I thought I had found the key to the box of junk food secrets, but actually I had not at all. And then a few months ago I came across the blog post of someone who said she had found the trick. As of today, I’m still not sure this is the true and final answer to my questionings, but I decided to go with it because obviously I haven’t found a better answer yet, and this one actually sounds like a “yeah, possible”. The coating of KFC’s delicious fried thighs seems to be made out of crushed corn-flakes! Okay, also, the thighs are deep-fried, but you know me, there’s not a chance that I copy this technique, so oven-baked it will be!

 

INGREDIENTS

  • Chicken thighs
  • Marinade for the chicken: lemon juice, paprika, oregano, garlic powder, fried onion crumbs, salt and pepper.
  • Eggs
  • Flour, salt, pepper, 1 tsp of ginger, a dash of cinnamon, 1 tsp of Cayenne pepper
  • Corn-Flakes

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Rub the chicken thighs in the marinade, and let sit in the fridge while you get everything ready for the next steps.
  2. Preheat the oven to 210 degrees C.
  3. Crush the corn-flakes with a pestle in a mortar. Combine with a bit of oil.
  4. Prepare 3 bols: one for the eggwash, one for the flour mix, one for the corn-flakes.
  5. Take the chicken out of the fridge.
  6. Prepare either an oven baking tray by brushing some butter (with no lining otherwise the chicken will get soggy), or a simple oven-baking dish.
  7. Dip the chicken thighs in the eggwash, then dip in the flour mix, dip again (but briefly) in the eggwash and immediately coat all over with the crushed corn-flakes.
  8. Put the thighs in the baking dish or on the oven tray, and bake for about 25 minutes, flipping the thighs over at mid-time (that is around the 12th minute).
  9. Do you like dipping sauces? Enjoy and lick your fingers!

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2016 All Rights Reserved.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

