Fish Tacos. California, USA.

I have long been intrigued by the concept of Fish Tacos. I’ve read they are very popular in California, especially among surfers, but not only. Apparently, in lots of American families, Fish Tacos are a regular weeknight meal, or a quick-to-fix dish for a weekend with friends over at home. To me, until recently, tacos could only be meat-based tortillas packed with veggies and flavorful sauces. But while I was looking for my next World Food Challenge, I felt in the mood for cooking fish and citrus. When I found out Californian Fish Tacos included avocado and coleslaw as well (both of which I looooove!), the perspective of cooking this flavorful dish from Western America became a no-brainer. For this American food challenge, here is the recipe of Fish Tacos, California-Style.

california-fish-tacos-cookingtrips-wordpress-com

About the fish, the main idea is to pick a white fish that has a tender flesh, such as cod, hallibut, or hake fillets like the ones I’ve used here. I have no shame saying that I’ve purchased pre-cooked fish, coated in nice and crunchy breadcrumbs, and pre-pan-fried. Of course, it is entirely up to you if you’d rather take care of your fish from scratch, but trust that this won’t make a quick and easy to fix weeknight dinner anymore, haha!

For your information, you should know that both sauces (the hot sauce as well as the sauce for the coleslaw) are mayonnaise-based, in the original recipe of Californian Fish Tacos. However, I always try to make healthier dishes by taking out as much fat and sugar as possible. Here is no exception to my rule. I sub-ed the mayo for Greek yogurt. Although it worked out pretty well for the coleslaw, I admit with transparency that the hot sauce was not as much of a successful substitution, but as I currently am on a no-mayo diet (among other no-go ingredients!), I respected my end of the deal and did not give in into mayonnaise.

californian-fish-taco-by-cookingtrips-wordpress-com

As for every dish that includes salsa or a salad with seasoning, it is essential to get all of the dish’s components ready before you start assembling, so that the tortillas don’t get too soggy from some unwanted sauce dripping, especially if you display the coleslaw over the tortilla too early before eating time. Actually, about that, I would suggest not to assemble your Tacos before it’s time to serve.

our-growing-edge-banner

This post is in for the monthly event called Our Growing Edge that aims at pushing bloggers to try new things. It is hosted this time by Susan at Simply Sundays! and the chosen theme is Family Favorites. Here is now the recipe below, for my California-Style Fish Tacos. 

california-fish-tacos

INGREDIENTS for 4 tacos

  • 4 flour tortillas
  • 2 hake fillets
  • 1 portion of white cabbage
  • 1 portion of red purple cabbage
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 green pepper
  • 2 small Greek yogurts
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 2 dollops of Sriracha sauce or your usual chilli sauce
  • 3 tbsp of milk
  • salt and pepper

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cook the fish fillets in a hot pan, about 4 minutes on each side.
  2. Save 2 generous slices of lemon for when time comes to plate up.
  3. In the meantime, prepare the coleslaw. Thinly chop the white cabbage and the purple cabbage. Combine together.
  4. Prepare the sauce for the slaw. Mix one Greek yogurt with salt and pepper, and with 2 tbsp of lemon juice squeezed from what’s left of the previously sliced lemon. Combine this sauce with the slaw, and reserve.
  5. Slice the avocado and chop the green pepper.
  6. Prepare the hot sauce with another Greek yogurt, the chili or Sriracha, and a bit of milk if it is too thick to your taste.
  7. Now assemble your tacos. Top each tortilla with some coleslaw, the green pepper, avocado slices and the fish fillets (I have sliced both of them in the length, and split over 2 tacos).
  8. Finish off by drizzling some hot sauce to taste, and fold the tortillas.
  9. Serve with a slice of lemon on the side, and squeeze some of it on top of the fish if you fancy lemon as much as I do!

 

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2017 All Rights Reserved.

9 comments

  1. Hey Sue! Yes, you can definitely substitute fish for falafel, however I would recommend not adding up the hot sauce as it is in my recipe (so you just need one single Greek yogurt, not two). If you like a bit of heat, sub the green pepper for jalapeno or similar hot pepper. In my opinion, you’d want to re-assess the quantity of lemon juice in the cabbage seasoning too, depending how much you like or not acidic flavors when eating falafel along. Last but not least, if substituing fish for falafel, I would personally add a touch of mint in the sauce!! Mmmm you’re giving me a great idea here :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

