How the World Fantasizes about Anglo-Saxon Food

After almost 2 years blogging, I came down to the basic observation that the whole world fantasizes about the Anglo-Saxon cuisine. “Please define Anglo-Saxon cuisine”, would you require. “Yes, sure” would I respond. Well, American, English, and eventually Canadian and Australian. But mostly American in the end. My references and sources?  The number of “likes” on my blog: they come from all over the world but almost all go to American dishes. Yes, folks, I did not say “French cuisine”, I did say American food. Nothing strange about it though, especially when you come to read my blog and find out that, even I, as a French blogger, challenge myself every month in cooking worldwide recipes, lots of them being Asian and American, and so very few of them French or European at all. “Then, no wonder”, would you observe. “Yeah, sure”, would I respond once more.

california-fish-tacos  Lobster Roll Connecticut Style - cookingtrips.wordpress.com Chimichanga of Arizona by cookingtrips on WordPress  Crunchwrap

It’s not because French cuisine is re-known worldwide that the whole world or at least the world of blogging craves for yummy yet complex French cuisine recipes to reproduce at home. It is not because I am French that my followers are my followers. Nope, what we want nowadays is yummy and quick-to-fix, fun to eat, healthy, finger-licking (literally and picture-ly), sometimes – but not always – elaborated recipes that are packed with flavors, basic-pantry-based recipes, and weekend or holiday-feel recipes. Am I not right? I mean, who wants to eat with a silver fork and knife on a daily basis? Not that French or European cuisine can only be treated with silverware, but come on, Anglo-Saxon cuisine means having fun at the pub, sharing meals with crazy-fun friends, and indulging in all the unreasonable fat-and-sweet combos that we usually try to avoid when cooking European or Asian dishes (less the hypocrites, because – come on – delicious French cuisine is based on butter and heavy cream, ya all know that!).

Nachos improved version after our trip to NYC 4 Layers- Taco Dip - cookingtrips.wordpress.com poutine-canada-cookingtrips-wordpress-com homemade-kentucky-fried-chicken-cookingtrips-wordpress-com

American cuisine appears as an object of fantasy to lots of people from other countries, for all that it represents, starting as a symbol of the American culture that we know through cinema/movies, TV shows etc. American social culture has this “thing” that makes foreign travelers and other aficionados feel super attracted to it, and it often goes through the food culture too.

General Tao Delicious by cookingtrips.wordpress.com Meat Pie - Australia - clean cut by cookingtrips at wordpress Cottage Pie by cookingtrips.wordpress.com Falafels made Crunchy - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

I already can hear some of you scream & shout (a bit Will I Am and Britney Spears-like). “But Sophie, why? Why do you fantasize on Anglo-Saxon food when you know it is so unhealthy? Can’t you see that – for instance – Mediterranean cuisine is healthy and so much packed with flavors? And blablablee and blablablah… And Sophie, how about the rarely pointed Swedish cuisine that only brings necessary calories and nutrients to fight cold winters without trying to be super fancy (is it not?!)? Oh dear Sophie, Asian… Asian food is your solution for a healthy living. Yes, I know, thank you all. That is indeed so very true, I think. But back to the US, and to begin with, American food is not always unhealthy. I do agree it is rich, most of times, but I do tell you too that it is all a matter of how you decide to adjust ingredients, and to get organized to create successive meals made of the most variety and diversity. Same as in any national cuisine, by the way.

poke-bowl-from-hawaii Caesar Salad by cookingtrips.wordpress.com Raw Broccoli Salad by cookingtrips inspired by Gordon Ramsay Coleslaw

Through my own eyes, American cuisine as it is seen from abroad includes:

  • burgers, tacos, bagels, wraps, hot-dogs, aka all sorts of foods that can be wrapped
  • salads with creamy sauce/seasoning
  • casseroles (oh yeah, Americans are super champions in casseroles!)
  • chips, crisps, fries, nachos, etc.
  • dips, and anything that can be dipped
  • deep fried everything (sorry if I am going too far, I do know lots of modern Americans banned deep-frying of course, and I apologize to them, but you all know how stereotypes can go…)
  • over-sized dishes, especially the ones including meat
  • state-of-the-art take-out food that can be purchased in supermarkets, restaurants and any kind of small shops and eateries
  • other cuisines brought by centuries-old immigration

Bagel Pastrami Cream Cheese Arugula Texas King Ranch Casserole FINAL SUCCESSFUL VERSION - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

Enough talking. I’ve seized the opportunity of this post to link to some of my favorite posts in regards to our topic of today. Some posts refer to American dishes, some other posts refer to other Anglo-Saxon dishes, some more posts refer to dishes widely “liked” by American readers, and last but not least some posts refer to food I’ve eaten during my travels to the US and that I have mentioned in my “Travel” posts. Just click on the pictures to reach the desired page. And don’t forget to “like” here and there, otherwise you’d participate to prove me wrong!!! Loooool. 

Blintz with Strawberries by cookingtrips.wordpress.com Carrot Cake Slice - cookingtrips

Christmas Tree Puff Pastry with homemade Pesto 3  P1120940

Belly Buster Burger in Clearfield PA
Denny’s Beer Barrel and Pub : Eating a GIANT Burger in Pennsylvania (I mean, literally giant)

Enjoy the trip!

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2017 All Rights Reserved.

3 comments

  1. Oh My Goodness…how awful is that huge hamburger. What a really nice post Sophie, so easy to read and I know all the photos you have put up; well I am sure I do, from previous posts of yours. I do agree with your comments about American food and especially how big the serves are – too big!!! Hope you are having a great weekend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

