Grilled Rye-Bread Turkey Pastrami, Bresaola and Leerdamer Cheese Sandwich

Rye-Bread newbie, this is how I can define myself. Indeed, rye never has been part of my eating habit, neither as a child when I was living in France, nor as an adult when I went and lived in Asia (where bread simply is not something people eat at all). It’s only since I’ve come back to Europe that my interest to rye-bread rose, while I was searching the Internet for small flat sandwiches to make at home and got intrigued by this unusual type of dark color bread. 

Grilled Rye-Bread Turkey Pastrami Bresaola and Leerdamer cheese Sandwich by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

I think rye flour is particularly adapted to making bread for sandwiches because it has a high power of agglomeration and therefore makes breadcrumb of high density. I have not made the bread myself and went for the store-bought clean slices, because I had no clue how this bread would and should behave with fillings (meat, cheese, sauce and veggies). I was happy to find out that the bread stays still, and I now understand why I have seen in the past so many pictures of thick beef pastrami sandwiches made of rye-bread. This is definitely a sandwich I’ll try in New-York city the next time I visit, as this is very typical from there again, and I hadn’t got the chance to have one the last time I visited, as I focused on trying bagels! How many World Food Challenges “NYC” am I going to have on my blog?!

Grilled Rye-Bread Turkey Pastrami Bresaola and Leerdamer Sandwich - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

I was first looking into making a beef pastrami sandwich, but living in France I am still and always confronted to the absence of beef pastrami in our shops. The only pastrami I am able to find is Turkey pastrami, which is not bad already, but radically different in taste from beef. To balance this, as well as to add a smoky aroma along with a beef flavor, I decided to integrate Italian Bresaola (that is beef charcuterie), and I must say I am quite satisfied with the result. Last but not least, we can’t always find Cheddar in my city stores, therefore I replaced it with Leerdamer cheese (from Holland) even if the taste is not close to Cheddar at all. Quite an international sandwich, would you say! Well, that also is what I am, a rather international person and foodie! I hope you enjoy my recipe as much as I have!

Grilled Rye-Bread Turkey Pastrami Bresaola and Leerdamer cheese Sandwich - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

INGREDIENTS (for each sandwich)

  • 2 slices of rye-bread
  • 3-4 slices of Turkey Pastrami
  • 4 slices of Bresaola
  • 1/2 tomato, thinly sliced
  • 1 sweet and sour pickle, sliced
  • 4 slices of Leerdamer cheese
  • Savora or American yellow mustard

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Prepare the sandwich. Spread mustard (or Savora) on both slices of rye bread. On the first slice, pile up Bresaola, turkey pastrami, tomato slices, pickles slices, Leerdamer cheese, and close up with the second slice of bread.
  2. Slightly grease up a grill pan and heat it up on the stove.
  3. Set the sandwich on the pan and start grilling.
  4. Each side will have to grill twice. Start with the meat side, flip to the cheese side, and do it all over again, taking care of crossing grilled lines for a bit of aesthetics sake!
  5. Finish off with grilling the cheese side so that the melted cheese remains warm and gooey at the time of serving.
  6. When ready, take the sandwich out the pan, cut it in half and plate up with a side of French fries and a fresh salad.
  7. Enjoy this sandwich like no other! Yummy!!!

 

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2017 All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

