Mozza Bresaola and Chicken Pan

Melted cheese and I are currently engaging in an official everlasting love story. In honor of cheese, my favorite ingredient of all, I have picked on the Web a recipe that involves a lot of it, and adapted it for more flavors and freshness: a delicious Mozzarella Bresaola and Chicken Pan. 

I have always loved cheese. I think it’s a family thing. My father simply is unstoppable in front of a cheese platter; one of my grand-mothers could feed herself only on cheese, yogurt and soup if nobody suggested it could be harmful to her health that she does not give any chance to other foods; and one of my cousins knew all cheeses names before he even learnt how to read in 1st grade. I remember when, as a child, my mother was often trying real hard to keep under control my appetite for cheese, while I was often having this feeling of frustration like “why not eating more of what I love and less of what I dislike – like cauliflower and bechamel casserole for instance”. Also, I had this tendancy to imitate everything my dad was doing, and indulging in cheese like him was one of my favorites, to the great dismay of my mom who always disapproved of this. Later, she became a Doctor in Nutrition and Sports Medicine. It’s now been almost 20 years that she practices as a Nutritionist and as a Sports Doctor. And of course, she still tries to explain to me why I should watch out my consumption of cheese. Of course.

Mozza Bresaola and Chicken Pan - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

I think that, for food as well as for any other thing in life, temperance and balance are keys to a healthy way of life. I now try to eat cheese on a regular basis but only in moderate quantities. It happens, though, that once in a while, I drop all my nice principles, give in, and cook a dish that really honors cheese. The next few days, I forbid myself to eat a single piece of cheese. This is my price to pay, and I set it myself for myself, so that I don’t feel the frustration the same way as if someone else forced me into this decision. Today is one of these days. And what better way to enjoy cheese than melted over nice and simple ingredients marinated in white wine and cream. Yummy!

Mozza Bresaola and Chicken Pan by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 to 4 chicken thighs  
  • 1 Mozzarella ball
  • 6 medium-size white mushrooms 
  • 6 slices of Bresaola 
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • 1/2 onion, thinly minced
  • 1 cup of white wine 
  • 2 tbsp of heavy cream
  • 1 tsp of Oregano
  • 1/2 tsp of Red Pimento powder
  • 1/4 tsp of Ginger
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 of oil

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cut the chicken into slices.
  2. Thinly slice the mushrooms and onion too.
  3. Heat oil in the pan and begin cooking both chicken pieces and mushrooms + onion.
  4. Deglaze with white wine, and let reduce a little bit. 
  5. Add the tomato dices.
  6. Add oregano, pimento, ginger and pepper, and cook until golden. This is this coloring process that is going to give the nice golden color to the cream in the next step, so do it with generosity.
  7. Add the heavy cream and combine, then slow down the heat. 
  8. Display small slices of Bresaola all over the pan.
  9. Divide the mozzarella ball into nice chunks and spread them over the creamy chicken and Bresaola.
  10. Either cover the pan with a lid and keep heating it up till the cheese has totally melted down, or insert the pan into the oven under the grill if you like the cheese melted with a little golden crisp on the edges too. 
  11. Eat immediately with bread or pasta, or just nothing, it’s good just as it is! 

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2017 All Rights Reserved.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

