Homemade Lemonade

Last year, I completely went crazy buying lots of objects I found nice in my favorite chain store Maisons du Monde (Homes of the World), keeping an eye on my budget of course, but letting myself go to making frequent purchases in order to enlarge my collection of nice dishes and accessories inspired from different parts of the world. And there it happened. I bought a big glass jar, in which I’d next spend my whole summer making homemade lemonade, and orangeade. Who would not enjoy drinking this fresh lemonade on my terrace with this gorgeous view over the Mediterranean Sea?! 

Lemonade and a View - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

Remember I had gone to New-York city earlier in 2016? In between the touristic visits, I had spent a lot of time enjoying restaurants and coffee shops, and I had not missed an occasion to admire through shop windows all the nice American cookies, cakes and danishes that were displayed in elegant cookie jars. I am not so much into sweets, I find my happiness in savory dishes, however I do appreciate a beautiful display of anything, whatever flavor it reflects, including sweets. and I love glass jars, of all shapes and sizes. I guess this trip to NYC gave me some kind of inspiration. It also reminded me of the Summer 1997 when I was an au-pair for a month or so, in the area of Boston, MA, and my hosting family was constantly organizing giant BBQ parties in their backyard, like the ones we always see in US movies. There was so much food and beverages, I often was astonished by the size of the jars and barrels. Inspired by that episode of my young life, I guess I have now learned how to feed a crowd, American-BBQ-Party-style, with my Homemade Lemonade, served in this giant lemonade glass jar. For sole cultural concerns, let me clarify that the jar’s script translates into Lemons of Provence.

Orangeade - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

I mentioned earlier that I have also made orangeade. The recipe is very simple, it’s exactly the same recipe as for the lemonade, except that lemons and oranges quantities vary a bit. For the Lemonade, we use 3 lemons for 1 orange. For the Orangeade, we use 3 oranges for half a small lemon only. I would maybe advise to reduce the amount of sugar in the orangeade, as the oranges (the fruits) will naturally add more sweet to the drink that the lemons do in the lemonade. That’s about it. It’s healthy, even better if using organic lemons and oranges nor refined sugar, and way better on all levels than the store-bought drinks. Please don’t refrain from drinking healthy stuffs this summer! lol

Homemade Lemonade - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 liters of water
  • 3 organic lemons
  • 50 grams of brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp of honey
  • 1 orange (or 2 small mandarins)
  • Loads of ice-cubes and a straw for serving

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Boil the water in a large pot.
  2. Slice 2 lemons and let them infuse in the boiling water for 30 minutes, along with the brown sugar and honey.
  3. Squeeze the orange over the boiling water.
  4. Let it cool.
  5. In the same pot, gently smash the lemons to amplify the aroma.
  6. Transfer the liquid mixture from the pot to the glass jar, passing it through a Chinese sieve in order to discard the pulp and seeds.
  7. Slice the third and last lemon. Slices don’t have to be too thin nor too thick. Add them to the jar without squeezing them.
  8. Let cool in the fridge for a minimum of half-day.
  9. Serve with plenty of ice-cubes and a straw. Now sip, sip, sip!

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2017 All Rights Reserved.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

