Guacamole. Mexico.

Within a month, I’ll be off to Mexico for holidays. I can’t wait to discover the beauty of the country of course, and I can’t wait to find out about the local food, which I love and which I’m eager to discover much more of, especially when it’ll be prepared for me by the Mexicans themselves. In the meantime, I am setting my mind on Mexican mood thanks to one of my favorites ingredients of all times, the avocado. I know there are lots of options when it comes to cooking avocado, especially now that it became sort of trendy to show oneself creative with this fruit, but sometimes a good basic such as the typical Guacamole from Mexico is all I want to satisfy my own avocado cravings. This super Tex-Mex dip is just perfect for my new World Food Challenge, it’s healthy, vegetarian and vegan, and honestly there is no easier way to eat a real good Guacamole than doing it yourself instead of buying some poor industrial version of it in just any random store.

Guacamole by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

Rule #1: Mash the avocados with a fork, no electric mixer por favor! You don’t want your guacamole to turn into a poor avocado purée. In order to achieve that, you’ll need to keep some texture by saving a little consistency, so roughly mash them and don’t beat the mixture too smoothly.

Rule #2: Don’t be stingy on lemon juice. First of all, it’ll taste better if you use the right amount, and second of all it’ll prevent your Guacamole from turning brown and unappealing.

Rule #3: Coriander, Oregano and Cayenne pepper are non-negotiable. If you don’t have all necessary spices, you can cut on some of them, but those three are, in my opinion, fundamentals of a great Guacamole. It’s always better to put them all in though, but guacamole cravings sometimes call for sacrifices. Just deal with it and manage something out with what you have on hand.

Guacamole from Mexico by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

The recipe I’m writing here is of the original Mexican Guacamole, as they truly make it in Mexico, plus an addition of small pieces of red bell pepper that is sometimes found in some places in Mexico. Personally, I find it much tastier this way. I sometimes do my guacamole differently and for that matter I have a “spices only” very own recipe of mine that you’ll be able to find in the cookbook I self-published in 2015. I use a special combo that can be used as Taco Seasoning, which makes the guacamole much spicier and hotter, and there are no veggie involved other than avocado. Exit the tomato, onion and bell pepper; good morning pure and simple avocado. Guacamole is normally to be eaten with nacho chips, however I find it much healthier with thin organic corn crackers. But that’s just me!

Guacamole recipe by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 fresh ripe avocados
  • 1 firm tomato
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/4 onion (I actually used scallion’s white part which I like better)
  • the juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1 tbsp of ground coriander
  • a good pinch of all of the following spices and herbs:
  • paprika
  • Cayenne pepper
  • black pepper
  • ginger
  • oregano
  • parsley

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Peel and mash the avocados with a fork in a bowl.
  2. Dice the tomato (5-6 mm) and remove all the seeds and juicy parts.
  3. Dice the red bell pepper.
  4. Thinly mince the onion.
  5. Combine everything in the same bowl.
  6. Add the lemon juice and all the spices.
  7. Stir well to combine.
  8. Keep in the fridge until it’s time to serve.

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2017 All Rights Reserved.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

