Tiramisu

As most of you know by now, I am not so much of a dessert person. But for a real good Italian Tiramisu, I could simply erase from my memory that I usually prefer eating Pad Thai for instance. When I generally don’t appreciate a dessert, it is when the sugar is too powerful and leaves afterwards this feeling that it got stuck at the top of my palate, at the bottom of my throat and at the back of my upper gums. I hate it, and sometimes I can even feel a bit dizzy. In my opinion, sugar doesn’t have to be the answer to everything greedy. So far, the best tiramisu I had – ever – was the one that one of my Aunt’s makes. To me, Vanina really is the one who nails it when it comes to Tiramisu. I think I’ve never told her, but that post will do its job: Tata, your tiramisu rocks! And so I have tried to reproduce it at home, with what is the closest recipe to what I think my auntie is using.

Tiramisu layers by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

With this Tiramisu, the amount of sugar is ridiculous compared to other recipes, and for me the balance is just perfect. The pleasure comes from elsewhere, the right combination of other ingredients that help this dessert’s flavors burst like a firework. There is the coffee and the bit of rum or amaretto that wet the ladyfinger type biscuit, there is the Mascarpone and egg sweet custard, and of course there is the bitter cocoa powder that finishes off the cake with this special chocolate aroma. Dig a spoon down all layers, close your eyes and eat, it’s heavenly going to rejoice you for the rest of the day.

Tiramisu by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 eggs, yolks and whites separated
  • a pinch of salt
  • 50 grams of sugar
  • 250 grams of Mascarpone
  • 200 grams of ladyfingers
  • 2 long and strong espresso
  • 1/4 cup of rum
  • bitter cocoa powder

DIRECTIONS

  1. Separate the eggs yolks from the whites, in two different large mixing bowls.
  2. Add sugar to the yolks and start beating.
  3. Add the Mascarpone and beat till the mixture is smooth.
  4. In the other bowl, use an electric batter mixer to beat the eggs whites with a pinch of salt until firm to very firm.
  5. Combine both mixtures by adding the firm egg whites to the Mascarpone mix. Gently and slowly lift the whites to roll them into the Mascarpone mix, and don’t over-stir the new custard so that the whites don’t break into a too soft version of themselves.
  6. When this is ready, prepare 2 long and strong espresso. Pour them into a small hollow dish.
  7. Add the rum to the coffee.
  8. In a glass dish, spread a thin layer of custard.
  9. One by one, quickly dip each ladyfinger biscuit into the rum and coffee, and display them in the bottom of the glass cake dish.
  10. When the first layer of biscuit is set, spread a generous layer of custard.
  11. Repeat with a second layer of ladyfingers, and the last generous layer of custard.
  12. Cover with a plastic film or aluminum foil, and let it sit in the fridge overnight (yes, sorry dude, you’re not going to eat that marvel right away!).
  13. On the second day, when it’s time for dessert (or afternoon tea), take the Tiramisu out of the fridge and sprinkle cocoa powder all over it before serving.
  14. Cut and serve with a pie server, be quick and precise.
  15. Or… a little tip: instead of making the tiramisu in a cake dish, make them in some individual small glass jars!
  16. Eat along with espresso, it’s a killer dessert!

 

Tiramisu clean cut by cookingtrips.wordpress.com

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi. © 2017 All Rights Reserved. 

 

3 comments

  1. I remember making Tiramisu in a restaurant in Galway years ago. I actually discovered Tiramisu in Ireland, of all places. When I make mine, I use whiskey with the coffee, and Tia Maria in the mix… Well it means “Pick me up” doesn’t it? :D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

