Lemon and Lime Fondant

This dessert recipe definitely is a Winner! My Number One Rule in the kitchen, though, usually is to NEVER come close to the idea of baking any type of pastry, ever, since I suck at it big time. I mean, really big time. I’m only good at cooking savory dishes. I don’t know why, but when it comes to pastry and sweet desserts, I can’t seem to be willing to follow all the instructions, or respect all ingredient quantities, or even NOT skip any step of a pastry baking process. I am able to build recipes, but completely unable to follow them. Nevertheless, there is actually ONE cake recipe that I am nailing every single time I try it. It is the Lemon Fondant. The first time I baked it, I followed the exact directions from A to Z that were given by the Chef of the French restaurant “Le Viaduc” where the recipe was initiated. Delicious!

Today is my husband’s birthday. He loves this cake, and I guess he wouldn’t mind having a piece or two when comes tonight his “birthday cake moment”. As though he knows I suck at baking sweets, he asked me to surprise him tonight with whatever dessert I felt like trying to bake (again!) for him. So I decided I’ll play it half safe and half wild. The original Lemon Fondant is made out of lemon, and is partly fluffy because of the addition of a bit of baking powder. I give myself the right to modify and adapt the recipe of the Chef and make it my own with a personal touch. Cooking is about trying, they say. Today I present to you, dear friends, my compact Lemon and Lime Fondant.

Lemon Fondant - cookingtrips.wordpress.com

Before you get started, did you know my first cookbook got published? It’s called Cookbook #1: A French Girl’s Cooking Adventures in Her Kitchen, and it’s available online, you’re just a click away, RIGHT HERE!

INGREDIENTS

  • FOR THE CRUST
  • 150 g of slightly salted butter, creamed / softened by work of a spatula
  • 60 g of sugar
  • 230 g of flour
  • a bit of water
  • FOR THE LEMON CREAM
  • 4 eggs (or 5 if they are really small)
  • 200 g of white sugar
  • 16 cl of lemon and lime juice (about 1 big lemon and 2 medium limes)
  • the zest of 1 lemon
  • 50 g of flour

 

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Get the butter out of the fridge, cut in little cubes and allow it to slowly soften and reach room temperature
  2. Preheat the oven at 170 degrees Celsius.
  3. Prepare the crust. Work on creaming the butter with a spatula. Then add the sugar, combine with butter, finally add in the flour and combine it all. Slowly add a bit of water to reach a paste-like result.
  4. In a rectangular mold, spread the crust over the whole surface, while keeping it about 1 to 1,5 cm thick. Finish with your fingers, so that the crust is equally spread.
  5. Bake in the oven for 20 to 25 minutes.
  6. In the meantime, prepare the lemon cream. Combine eggs and sugar.
  7. Then add the lemon and lime juice, the zest and the flour.
  8. Pour the cream over the hot crust and bake in the oven for 20 more minutes.
  9. Take the cake out of the oven and let it cool down till the mold is not hot anymore.
  10. Let it sit in the fridge for at least 2 hours.
  11. Sprinkle with some icing-sugar, cut in squares, rectangles or bars, and serve!

Created and Written by Sophie Rebibo-Halimi, © 2015 All Rights Reserved.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

